Tags

, , , , , ,

This may well be the key idea in this entire blog: consciousness is an acquired skill.

You learned it in the first place, and that’s why you can learn to do it better: perhaps even master it.

Our chronic cultural predisposition either to reduce consciousness to some kind of, say, genetically determined function of our organism, or else to project it all over God’s creation (so to speak), is a manifestation of an absent-mindedness which is endemic throughout Western civilization.

Understanding why we have such a hard time even understanding what consciousness is (due to absent-mindedness), is as good a place as any to start improving the use of this skill. Indeed, apprehending that you are working with a skill could very well be the first step to mastering it.

Once absent-mindedness is generally understood, the skill-building practice of mindfulness naturally suggests itself… or rather, once I understand that I can improve the skill with which I experience consciously, and I become conscious of the absent-mindedness which has been hobbling my efforts to date, I have already started on the road of the skill-building practice of mindfulness.

[This post is a stub, a sketch of an idea to be developed later. If you find it interesting or intriguing please Like it, leave a comment, or send me a note and I will be happy to flesh it out more fully.]

