I am delighted to announce that I will be leading a session of Shinzen’s Basic Mindfulness Home Practice Program on the technique “Focus In”, on Sunday Sept. 15.

For those who may not know, the “Home Practice Program” (HPP) is a dial-in virtual retreat held every month on the second weekend. Shinzen and other facilitators teach and lead sessions with instruction, Q&A, and time for silent practice. Some people just call in for one or another segment, and other people set aside the whole weekend for a structured retreat which can be done anywhere with phone access. Hundreds of people call in from all over the world.

I am very excited to have been invited to lead this session. I want to come across as all cool and experienced and like it’s no big deal — and at a certain level I have taught this material many times so that’s true. But it’s also true that this is my very first time teaching a segment of the HPP, and as such it’s a significant step for me in my development as a mindfulness facilitator and I’m excited, which is to say a combination of pleased and nervous. I want the world to be overrun by people who have recovered from absent-mindedness, and I know that practicing Basic Mindfulness can bring about that result in the motivated and properly guided individual. It’s a privilege and a pleasure to be offering this to those who want it.

The registration deadline is Wednesday, September 11. If you wish to participate and you can’t afford $20 for whatever reason, contact Emily (the administrator) and she can set you up with a scholarship.

